Walker Cup Books

Gordon G. Simmonds is the official biographer of The Walker Cup.

To date three limited hardback editions of his definitive history of the match have been published; the first in 2000, the second in 2004 and the third in 2023.

‘The Walker Cup 1922 to 1999 Golf’s Finest Contest’ by Gordon G. Simmonds 
Grant Books (2000 / 2,000 copies) – 280 pages


‘The Walker Cup 1922 to 2003 Golf’s Finest Contest’ by Gordon G. Simmonds
Grant Books (2nd edition / 2004 revised and enlarged / 1,000 copies) – 309 pages

Book Walker Cup

A limited edition version of ‘The Walker Cup’ book was produced for the 2007 GB&I team at Royal County Down G.C. 26 numbered copies and 6 unnumbered copies were printed. This version included photographs of the players and course by David Cannon as well as letters of support from former players and other leading figures in business and sport.

The Walker Cup Book – 2007 GB&I Players’ Book (Photo: oldsportsauctions.com)

‘Centenary Edition – The Walker Cup 1922-2023 – Golf’s Finest Contest’ by Gordon G. Simmonds
For The R&A by Grant Books Ltd (3rd edition / December 2023 revised and enlarged / 3,600 copies) – 384 pages

To celebrate the centenary match Simmonds refreshed his history to include up to date statistics and reports for the subsequent matches played between 2005 and 2023. A larger format was adopted this time with more photographs and new forwards from Fred Ridley and Peter McEvoy added. Whilst a large number of these books were subscribed for some copies are available for sale from Grant Books for £70.00.

Earlier histories of the match have also been written.

This 16 page self-published paper by J.S.F. Morrison, written in August 1938, tells the story of matches between the two countries between 1916 and 1921. It was subsequently included in Morrison’s ‘Around Golf’ anthology which was published by Arthur Baker in 1939.

Great Britain Versus The United States (Photo: oldsportsauctions.com) 

‘Walker Cup’ by Bruce McCormick
Private (1949) – 58 pages

McCormick put this book together to cover his participation in the 1949 match played at Winged Foot on 19-20 August. It includes black and white photos by Alex Bremner and signatures of all the players. The USA won 10-2, albeit McCormick only played in the Day 1 Foursomes.

Walker Cup Book (Photo: www.valuable-book.com)

More recently Ocean Forest G.C. produced a book to commemorate their course, which had only opened in 1995, and its staging of the 2001 Walker Cup match.

‘Ocean Forest and The 38th Walker Cup Match’ by Gary A. Galyean
Ocean Forest G.C. (2003) – 174 pages

Seminole G.C. also produced a commemorative book following the playing of the 48th Walker Cup match at their course in Florida.

2021 Walker Cup – Seminole Golf Club
Seminole G.C. (2021) – 120 pages

In 2022 St. Louis Country Club, to commemorate the centenary of the Walker Cup, commissioned a work honouring the contribution of George H. Walker to amateur golf.  The book discusses in detail the establishment of the Walker Cup match, its history and the wider role that St. Louis C.C. has played in supporting amateur golf over the years.

‘A Tribute To George Herbert Walker’ by James F. Healey
St. Louis County Club (2022) – 152 pages

Copies of the above books, as well as match programmes, can normally be found for sale on AbeBooks or via specialist golf retailers Fine Golf Books or Valuable Book Group.


Copyright © 2014-2024, Mark Eley. All rights reserved.