2019 – GB&I Team

22nd July 2019

The Walker Cup Initial GB&I Squad outlined below was reduced to 16 players on 15th July after the conclusion of the European Men’s Amateur Team Championship.

The R&A invited the following players to attend a second formal training session on 23-24 July at Royal Liverpool G.C.: –



Bailey GILL (ENG)

Harry HALL (ENG)


Matty LAMB (ENG)



Thomas PLUMB (ENG)








The revised squad includes 10 players from England, 4 from Ireland, 2 from Scotland and 0 from Wales.


On 22nd June 2019 Ireland’s James SUGRUE won The Amateur Championship at Portmarnock G.C.

Former Captain’s have previously mentioned an unwritten rule which stipulates a home winner of The Amateur in the year of a match will always be selected. As a result I am assuming James has secured his place in the 2019 GB&I Walker Cup team with this victory.



The R&A Men’s Selection Committee is responsible for choosing the Great Britain and Ireland (GB&I) Walker Cup Team.

The current Selection Committee comprises Andy INGRAM (Chairman / Wales), Craig WATSON (Captain / Scotland), Nigel EDWARDS (England) and Padraig HOGAN (Ireland).


On 24th April an Initial GB&I Squad of 26 players was announced. 12 players from England, 6 from Scotland, 5 from Ireland and 3 from Wales were included the Squad: –

Jake BURNAGE, Saunton, England (23)

Kieran CANTLEY, Liberton, Scotland (21)

Ben CHAMBERLAIN, Padeswood & Buckley, Wales (21)

Archie DAVIES, Carlisle, Wales (17)

Alex FITZPATRICK, Hallamshire, England (20) 

Bailey GILL, Lindrick, England (21)

Conor GOUGH, Stoke Park, England (16)

David HAGUE, Malton & Norton, England (22)

Harry HALL, West Cornwall, England (21) 

Jake HAPGOOD, Southerndown, Wales (22)

Benjamin JONES, Northamptonshire County, England (19)

Ryan LUMSDEN, Royal Wimbledon, (22) 

Euan MCINTOSH, Turnhouse, Scotland (50) 

John MURPHY, Kinsale, Ireland (20)

Joseph PAGDIN, Lake Nona, England (17)

Thomas PLUMB, Yeovil, England (20)

Mark POWER, Kilkenny, Ireland (18)

Conor PURCELL, Portmarnock, Ireland (21)

Caolan RAFFERTY, Dundalk, Ireland (26)

Sandy SCOTT, Nairn, Scotland (20)

Tom SLOMAN, Taunton & Pickeridge, England (22)

Jamie STEWART, Old Course Ranfurly, Scotland (19)

James SUGRUE, Mallow, Ireland (22)

Tom THURLOWAY, Chartham Park, England (21)

Euan WALKER, Kilmarnock (Barassie), Scotland (23)

Robin WILLIAMS, Peterborough Milton, England (17)

A first practice session was held on Wednesday 1st May at Royal Liverpool G.C. 18 players attended and Jake Burnage won an 18 hole stableford competition.

The Walker Cup Squad – back (l-r) Jake Burnage, Conor Purcell, Caolan Rafferty, James Sugrue, Euan Walker, Ben Jones, Tom Plumb, Craig Watson (Captain), Bailey Gill, David Hague, Tom Thurloway, Jake Hapgood, Euan McIntosh, Mark Power, Kieran Cantley, Andy Ingram (Chairman of Selectors), front (l-r) Ben Chamberlain, Tom Sloman, Ian Finnis (Guest), Archie Davies and Robin Williams 
 (Photo: @RLGCHoylake)


An informal GB&I practice session took place on 18-19 December 2018 at Royal Liverpool G.C.

Bailey GILL (ENG), Alex FITZPATRICK (ENG), Jake HAPGOOD (WAL), Billy MCKENZIE (ENG), Conor PURCELL (IRE), Caolan RAFFERTY (IRE), Sandy SCOTT (SCO), Jamie STEWART (SCO), Tom THURLOWAY (ENG) and Euan WALKER (SCO) were the ten attendees.

Unfortunately the gathering clashed with the increasingly prestigious South Beach International Amateur in Miami Beach, Florida. Jake BURNAGE (ENG), Conor GOUGH (ENG), David LANGLEY (ENG), Ben JONES (ENG), Joe PAGDIN (ENG), Tom PLUMB (ENG) and Robin WILLIAMS (ENG), all of whom were probably also invited, were already committed to this and were therefore not able to attend.

One must also assume that Alex GLEESON (IRE), David HAGUE (ENG), Harry HALL (ENG), Ryan LUMSDEN (SCO), Rowan LESTER (IRE), John MURPHY (IRE), Peter O’KEEFFE (IRE) and Tom SLOMAN (ENG) were discussed by the selectors and if invited were unable to make the dates chosen.


An initial squad has historically been announced in the January of the match year. The selectors have waited longer this year which makes a lot of sense. In 2017 19 players were selected for the squad which was announced on 23rd January. Two additional players, Jack DAVIDSON and Robin DAWSON, were subsequently added in April 2017.


Copyright © 2015-2019, Mark Eley. All rights reserved.